LOS CERRITOS AREA HOMEOWNERS ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 3958, Edgewood, NM 87015-3958

BOARD OF DIRECTORS: Judith Barber (286-0048), Dale Ford (286-0359), Tom Zipperian (286-1721), Sue Kline (281-4226) and Chris Nelson-Mixdorf (286-2816).

OFFICERS: Janet Rolsma-President (281-6251), Garth Reese-Vice President (281-6658), Secretary (vacant), and Rod Flores-Treasurer (281-6251).

STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS: Steve Williams-Roads (286-2284), Roxroy Reid-ACC (710-4278).

Minutes from LCAHA Semi-Annual Meeting – Saturday, July 25, 2009

Meeting was called to order at 9:10 a.m.

<u>New Business</u>

Discussion on by-law violations that were pointed out in a homeowner email: (1) No meeting was held in June; (2) two offices were held by same person; and (3) conflict in by-laws as to how officers are elected (Sections 3.1 and 3.2). Explanations were given for (1) and (2). Discussion on (3) was held and it was agreed that the new Board would address vacancies in offices and possible by-law amendments, including appointing a committee if desired. Below are the two conflicting by-law paragraphs:

<u>Section 3.1</u> Officers-Generally. The Officers of this Corporation shall consist of a President, a Vice President, a Secretary and a Treasurer each of whom must be a Director of the Association. Officers shall be elected by the Board of Directors at the time and in the manner prescribed by these Bylaws.

<u>Section 3.2</u> Election and Term. All officers of the Corporation shall be elected annually by the General Membership in attendance during the annual meeting to be chaired by the outgoing President. All elected Officers term of office shall be one (1) year, or until a successor has been duly elected, and all elected Officers shall assume office as of July 1st of each year. Any Officer may succeed himself.

• <u>Elections</u>

It was moved and seconded to hold election of board members. The vote was unanimous in favor. Two Board positions were up for election: Mike Rariden and Karen Wright.

The newly elected Board members (2009-2011) are: Sue Kline and Chris Nelson Mixdorf. Other continuing Board members (2008-2010) are: Dale Ford, Judith Barber and Tom Zipperian.

It was moved and seconded to hold election of officers. The vote was unanimous in favor. The following people volunteered to serve:

President:	Janet Rolsma
Vice President:	Garth Reese
Secretary:	(vacant)

Treasurer: Rod Flores

It was moved and seconded to accept the volunteers in these offices. The vote was unanimous in favor.

• Actions for Board of Directors:

It was moved and seconded for the Board to address the top 3 by-law issues as soon as possible. Discussion was held. The motion was withdrawn by the movant.

It was moved and seconded for the Board to review and clarify the by-laws. Discussion was held. The vote was unanimous in favor.

• <u>Fireworks:</u>

Homeowner was concerned about use of illegal fireworks during the summer. Possible solutions included posting a sign at the entrance to the subdivision, a reminder to be mailed with the June assessment, and calls to local law enforcement if violations occur.

• Non-paying homeowners:

Homeowner asked how non-payment of assessments are handled. Discussion about filing of liens in Santa Fe County.

Road Committee:

Road maintenance costs exceed collection of assessments so projects are carefully chosen based on limited funds. Main entrance on Camino Cerritos needs work. It is being studied and Board approval may be sought. This will affect fall grading if money is spent on the main entrance. Homeowner pointed out the culvert at the end of Camino Estribor is too high. Road Committee will look into it.

Adjournment:

It was moved and seconded to adjourn. The vote was unanimous in favor. Meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.